New Boater Needs help

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Boats and boating. Please do not post used parts or boats For Sale in this area. For general, non-boating topics please use our "General Discussions" section.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

1tm315

New Boater Needs help

Post by 1tm315 »

Hello... My name is Randy, I live in Florida and recently purchased a 1963 Seabreaze. I am new to boating and have never owned one before. I love old cars and have been restoring them for a while. Thinking along the same lines I have endeavored on a restoration project with this boat. I really love the styling and woodwork on these old boats. I tried to start, (the original) motor today and always hearing that you should never run a boat motor without pumping water through it I proceeded to attach a garden hose to the waterpump inlet hose. I let the water run full force through this hose and water was running out the exhaust at a pretty good rate. I then tried to crank the engine. Knowing a good bit about car engines, I knew something was wrong when the engine cranked very very slow with a brand new battery! Figuring I would check the compression in each cylinder, I removed the spark plugs and cranked the motor. As I suspected water blew out of the cylinders! Here's where my ignorance may or may not come in... I knew the water circulated through the water jackets and exhaust manifolds, but is it possible that I pumped too much water into the engine?? Or is it as I suspect and I have a crack or blown head gasket? The previous owner listed the boat as "running" and I did not test it before bringing it home. Can someone give me some information on the mechanics of these old motors? I don't know which engine this is, only that it says 188 HP on the valve cover along with the name fireball.

Please help!
Thanks,
Randy
rossjo
Ultimate User