Another Stringer Topic

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Boats and boating. Please do not post used parts or boats For Sale in this area. For general, non-boating topics please use our "General Discussions" section.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

Mac32
Moderate User

Another Stringer Topic

Post by Mac32 »

Hello gang, Newbie here to the forum but 10 yr owner of a 1976 F32. Floor was flexing under the dinette when cresting over waves so I suspected rotted stringers. After opening up the bilge and sticking a screw driver through the wood on every limber hole I came to sad fact I had rot. So after reading many posts on stringer repair and purchasing the West system book I decided to tackle the project. first I completly dismantled the interior (head wall, headliner, dinette, floor ect) so I would not get anything on the teak and also opened up for a complete interior update when I am done. Then I cut the tops off one by one and vacuumed out the rotted wood that crumbled like soft cork. FYI a high speed dremel with a carbide cutting wheel with a shop vac hose end taped to the side of cutter (rotation side) made quick easy clean work of stringer DE-Topping. Sooooo now I have a clean bilge with side walls where the stringers (and cross members) used to be but no good wood from the bow (vbirth floor) to the engine room bulkhead. I was planning on cutting new wood and filling it in with west system then glassing over the tops. SO HERE IS WHERE I AM STUCK. What kind of wood should I replace it with . The original stringers are 2-1/2 wide and need to be about 10' long. Should I laminate solid white oak, PT Ply, and where can I get the new wood (I live in michigan).......Any ideas?
Thankyou in advance.
Fred
Paul
Active User

Stringer

Post by Paul »

Hi Fred,