Have you chartered your boat?

This forum is for comments and the exchange of information relating to Trojan Boats and boating. Please do not post used parts or boats For Sale in this area. For general, non-boating topics please use our "General Discussions" section.

Note: Negative or inflammatory postings will not be tolerated.

Moderators: BeaconMarineBob, Moderator, BeaconMarineDon

Redfin

Have you chartered your boat?

Post by Redfin »

Just wanted to see how many of you out there have placed your boat in charter, and why your experiences were. I'm not talking about chartering it yourself, but having a charter captain, etc. I took mine out of charter because I've had some bad experiences with having other captains in my boat. Examples would be improper mooring, handling and equipment stowage. The Redfin has acquired a couple nice dings in the gelcoat, and one captain backed over a sunken sea wall on a rescue mission during a storm (trying to be a hero I suppose). What experiences have you had? I've taken my boat out of charter since.
Sincerely,

Redfin

1978 Trojan F-26 HT Exp
1978 Sea Ray SRV 240 HT
1981 Whaler 18 O/R
1967 O'Day Seven-Eleven
prowlersfish
2024 Gold Support
2024 Gold Support

Re: Have you chartered your boat?

Post by prowlersfish »

Not to any great extent with my own boats . But have been involved with several boats that were in charter use with a hired captains and with owner/operators ( 38-47 ft ) . The ones that owned and operated there own were taken care of and not abused . The ones that had hired captain were in many cases run very hard and seemed to have more problems . No big deal to them if the take out a 12v71 after all the 30-40 grand to overhaul is not coming out of there pocket . But there are some captains that treat them like a baby as if the owner them .